Skip to content

Light Shining in the Darkness

December 10, 2014

Fort Blakely

Tonight’s Advent Midweek Prayer Service is focusing on Light and Darkness, using a Celtic liturgy from www.faithandworship.com. In Isaiah 61:1-4, the prophet brings good news to the people in exile. Of course, while Isaiah’s good news was about the restoration of the people who were in bondage, we know that it was a foreshadowing of the THE Good News which John the Baptist would prepare the way for in the wilderness. People who were wandering about in the darkness, the wilderness; upon them the light would shine. (Matthew 4:16 & Isaiah 9:2)

This makes me think of the beginning of John’s Gospel when he proclaims, “the light shines in the darkness and the darkness has not overcome it.” (John 1:5) What a wonderful promise to a people in exile in a foreign land. What a wonderful promise to people who are searching for hope in the darkness of despair.

I think it is also poignant to remember the promise of light shining in the darkness this time of year. While the sun does stay up a LOT longer on the Florida Gulf Coast, it still does go down earlier than it did during high summer. I have lived places where that is not the case. I remember winters in England, Minnesota, Wisconsin & North Dakota where you went to school or work in darkness and came home in darkness. And often it was overcast and gloomy all day long as well. The lack of light would often suck the energy and spirit out of me and my counseling load would increase significantly as others dealt with the lack of sunlight. It was both a physiological and spiritual problem that the folks I counseled dealt with. And it continues to be an issue that I deal with personally.

However, my thoughts are focused on more than sunlight deprivation or depression. My thoughts are focused on the spiritual darkness that so many find themselves in, especially this time of year. The above picture is from Fort Blakely State Park on Mobile Bay. Denise and I had our engagement pictures taken there. The beauty of the sunset is stunning. The colors are so vivid and vibrant, and yet soon after the sun sets, the darkness rushes in.

In all of the sunsets that I have taken pictures of and experienced over the years, there is always a choice for me. How do I see the sunset with the eyes of my spirit? Do I celebrate the beauty of the sunset with all of its colors? Do I see in the sunset the fear of impending darkness? Or do I see the sunset and sense the reminder that the sun will rise again tomorrow?

The reminder for me in worship tonight will be of the light shining in the darkness. I will embrace the promise that no matter how dark the time may appear, that the light will not be overcome by that darkness. A favorite Christmas song of mine reminds me that it is better by far to light a single candle, than to stumble in the dark. Whatever periods or times of darkness in my own spiritual journey, the beauty of sunsets always reminded me of the closeness of God and the light shining despite the encroaching darkness.

Just as Isaiah promised that the people would be restored, so our Lord promises that we too shall be restored. No matter how dark or frightening the journey that you find yourself on may be, you have a choice. My prayer is that you will light that candle and dispel the darkness. More importantly than that, my prayer is that you will allow the light of Christ to illumine and guide you through the dark valley into the light of God’s grace, love, healing, forgiveness, and restoration.

My friends, the light does shine in the darkness. Embrace the Christ light and be the Christ light to each other. Then we will not stumble around in the darkness.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment